Happy New Year! As a business owner, I'm sure you're extremely busy with planning and growing your business right about now. However, it's good to make time to stay compliant with some of the new laws affecting California employers.

Other than state and local minimum wage changes which I'm sure you and your payroll company have already addressed, there are a couple workers' compensation insurance changes that you should be aware of... 

One change is the updated Workers' Compensation Claim Form (DWC 1) & Notice of Potential Injury. Here is a link to a copy of the new form. You are required to submit this form within 24 hours of being notified of the injury. If you submit the old form your insurance carrier could reject it and ask that you complete the updated form. Time to complete forms is something you don't have much of, so please be sure you complete the updated report form. 

Another change is the revised Notice to Employees - Injuries Caused by Work (DWC 7). This is a legal sized posting that must be visible to employees. It has their rights and information on how to file a workers' compensation insurance claim. Failure to post the notice to Employees constitutes a misdemeanor under California law and can result in a $7,000 civil penalty from the state. The notice must also be displayed in Spanish where you have Spanish-speaking employees. Your carrier may or may not have mailed you an updated version of this poster. Here is a link that you can complete and print yourself to post and stay in compliance. 

Two minor documents, but two that may save you time, money and headaches. Please be sure to print and post the DWC 7 and save the DWC 1 link so you will have it ready to complete and print should you need to file a claim. For more information on new laws affecting California employers, you can request a free white paper on the subject through CalChamber. If you have any questions about these changes or about workers' compensation insurance in general, please contact our office.